Originally built in the late 16th century next to Porta Marina, Chiesa di San Patrizio — Saint’s Patrick Church — was demolished in the 19th century and rebuilt a little further north, where it still welcomes worshippers and visitors. Always considered the “people’s church,” it was consecrated on September 10, 1893.
In 1924 the church was enriched by a bell tower, built thanks to the contribution of veterans of the Great War, and two years later Aristide Bernardini donated the bells. The interior houses works of great artistic value: an 18th-century altarpiece depicting the Madonna and Child, St. Bartholomew, St. Patrick and St. Joseph; the apse semi-dome painted by Luigi Fontana, featuring St. Patrick blessing the village; stucco and decorations by his student Niccolò Achilli; and a 17th-century painting of St. Anthony of Padua by an anonymous artist.
